Eric Clapton

1992 02 23 Royal Albert Hall, London, UK 

Audience, 147.01, B+, Master, Recorded by DGB, Mastered by Boguspomp, DGB-EC 12

Lineage : Sony D6 recorder > Sony Cassette Deck TC-WR635S > Sony PCM-R300 (using SBM > processing) > Tascam CD-RW700 > CDR > EAC > Soundforge 9.0 with Waves Platinum Plug Ins > TLH Flac level 8 with SBA > You

Introduction by DGB :

As previously indicated in a posting by Boguspomp, in a joint colaboration between DGB & Boguspomp all of my Eric Clapton master recordings will be released under the DGB-EC series. All of these recordings will be transferred directly from my master recordings & remastered by the wonderful & talented Boguspomp for optimum sound quality. Many of these recordings have been released in various formats over the years including releases under bootleg labels such as Mid Valley. All of these releases have never been taken directly from my master recordings since I have never given or authorised the release of my master recordings directly to any bootleg label. The intent is to release the best versions possible of these recordings.

I will provide my own personal comments based on my recollections & memories of each show that is released. Some of these stories will include the many challenges of recording shows. References will be made to personal contacts & friends, but for privacy purposes, no names will be disclosed.
Anyone reading these stories will know who you are. I will also provide my own personal opinion about the sound quality of each recording, as well as the quality of Ericís performance. I have seen Eric Clapton countless times (80+ and counting) and am very critical, not only of my own recordings, but also of Ericís playing. These are my own personal opinions, which you may not necessarily agree with, but having seen Eric Clapton as many times as I have, I feel that I am probably a good judge. If you do not agree with my comments, please do not hold this against me. Remember this is just my personal opinion.

A footnote for the next lot of 1992 shows... I have to say that this has given me the chance to listen to all of these shows again for the first time in many years. It brings back all the great memories that I had from 1992 tour & I have come to realize what a great year this was for Eric Clapton. Some absolutely great playing... It also interesting to hear the difference in playing between the the 1st shows from the Tour (Brighton, Birmingham & Sheffield) against the run of shows at the Royal Albert Hall in London. The Royal Albert Hall shows were very different to the previous shows & from my perspective Eric raises it to another level. Anyway you can be the judge of this. Enjoy these Royal Albert Hall shows as much as I did! 

Comment by DGB about this show :

Excellent show although not as good as the previous night. Excellent versions of Old Love & Crossroads...

Comment by Geetarz :

......a good document of a typically agressive and well played show from the 1992 tour..... Of interest in this performance, 
EC and the band give an especially long pause during the second instrumental break in "Badge" just before the second solo, 
which gives a different flavor to the track. 

Comment by Boguspomp :

Here is our final offering of the RAH shows, that DGB recorded. 
I believe it never happened in my 8+ years of posting shows that 2 consecutive shows were exactly the same length down to the second ! There is a first for everything. Another strong performance by EC and his band. Interesting Blues version of the Crossroads riff, before the real 'Crossroads' starts. The sound is not as good as the night before, but not as bad as Geetarz rated his version of this show. Again an upgrade I believe. CD's can be split before ' Old Love'.

Enjoy the show.


Disc 1:

01 White Room
02 Pretending
03 Anything For Your Love
04 I Shot The Sheriff
05 Running on Faith
06 She's Waiting
07 Circus Has Left Town
08 Tears in Heaven
09 Signe
10 Malted Milk
11 Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out
12 Tearing Us Apart
13 Before You Accuse Me

Disc 2:

14 Old Love
15 Badge
16 Wonderful Tonight
17 Layla
18 Audience
19 Crossroads Blues >
20 Crossroads incl. Band Introductions
21 Sunshine Of Your Love
22 Guitar Frenzy leads into >
23 Drums & Percussion Solos > End Of Show Outro

Eric Clapton - Guitar, Vocals
Nathan East - Bass, Vocals
Steve Ferrone - Drums
Chuck Leavell - Keyboards
Ray Cooper - Percussion
Andy Fairweather Low - Guitar, Vocals
Tessa Niles - Backing Vocals
Katie Kissoon - Backing Vocals