Eric Clapton
Fillmore West
San Francisco, California - November 9, 1994

CD-R2 - Aud 5 (Scale 1-6)

Disc 1:

1. Motherless Child
2. Malted Milk
3. How Long
4. Kidman Blues
5. County Jail
6. .44
7. Blues All Day Long
8. Standing Around Crying
9. Hoochie Coochie Man
10. It Hurts Me Too
11. Blues Before Sunrise
12. Third Degree
13. Reconsider Baby
14. Sinner's Prayer
15. Can't Judge Nobody
16. Early in the Morning
17. Too Bad
18. Someday After a While 

Disc 2:

1. Tore Down
2. Have You Ever Loved a Woman
3. Crosscut Saw
4. Driftin'
5. Crossroads
6. Groaning the Blues
7. Five Long Years
8. Ain't Nobody's Business 

Band Lineup:

Eric Clapton Guitar, Vocals
Andy Fairweather Low Rhythm Guitar
Jerry Portnoy Harmonica
Chris Stainton Keyboards
Dave Bronze Bass
Andy Newmark Drums
Roddy Lorimer Trumpet
Tim Sanders Tenor Sax
Simon Clarke Baritone Sax

Geetarz Comments: 

The second of two performances recorded at San Francisco's legendary Fillmore by Martin Scorcese for the unreleased "Nothing But the Blues" documentary. 

Quite interesting to hear the recordings from the perspective of the audience - in some cases, like the version of "Crossroads" which made its way into the film, the audience recording has even more power and majesty than that found in the soundboard recording - you can feel the dust coming off the guitar amps, the reverberation of the bass, the snap of the horns. 

Also used from this show in the film were "Early in the Morning", "Someday After a While", "Have You Ever Loved a Woman", and last but certainly not least, the blistering version of "Driftin'", which apparently was only performed twice (the other performance being at Irving Plaza on November 27th (thanks Mike!) on the blues tour. 

"Too Bad" was also included in this show, which wasn't played much at all.

An absolutely essential audience recording, and highly recommended.

If you're one of those people who prefers the sterile, "fake" sound of a soundboard - which, after all, sounds nothing like you'll hear in concert - you have my deepest pity. 


DAT > DAT (2) > CD-R > EAC v. 0.99 Prebeta 5 (Secure, Offset Correct) > FLAC

Mid Valley later released this recording as a part of the "RED" boxset (Mid Valley 261-262). This is the original, "un-remastered" recording.


~Geetarz, September 2010