The Beatles - Unplugged

LABEL: Invasion Unlimited IU 9541-1
LENGTH: 68:15 minutes

1. Short piece of John speaking (not listed on cover)
2. Cry Baby Cry
3. Child Of Nature
4. The Continuing Story Of Bungalow Bill
5. I'm So Tired
6. Yer Blues
7. Everybody's Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey
8. What's The New Mary Jane?
9. Revolution
10. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
11. Circles
12. Sour Milk Sea
13. Not Guilty
14. Piggies
15. Julia
16. Blackbird
17. Rocky Raccoon 
18. Back In The U.S.S.R.
19. Honey Pie
20. Mother Nature's Son
21. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
22. Junk
23. Dear Prudence
24. Sexie Sadie
25. Helter Skelter

In late May 1968 (the exact date not known) the Beatles came together at 'Kinfauns', George Harrison's home in Esher. One by One, first John, then George, then Paul, they recorded 23 of their newest compositions by double-tracking themselves on George's reel-to-reel tape machine. These songs, most of whom were written during the Beatles' two month stay on a  meditation course in Rishikesh, India, February - April 1968, were subsequently recorded for the 'White Album'. But not all of them made it onto vinyl and thus remain unreleased (at  least as Beatles versions). Judging by the outcome of this session, it must have been a very sunny and relaxing day. Spring certainly was in the air (and a bit of pot maybe too). Just  accompanied by their acoustic guitars John, Paul and George recorded very charming and joyful early versions of their newest tunes. Sometimes slightly out of sync with their own double tracking, but who cares? Spontanity counts! Had this session been recorded 25 years later, it would have been a bonafide MTV Unplugged performance! But as it is, this 1968 session remained in the vaults until now!!

We proudly present this tape to you in the correct running order and in the best possible sound (two generations away from the actual master tape). Enjoy!

The short acoustic bit of "Helter Skelter" was recorded on 11th June, 1968 at Abbey Road studios. The last two tracks were recorded in India. The light atmosphere of these musical snippets set the tone for the 'Kinfauns' session.